Abby is 1!

Abby turned one year old on November 21st while we were visiting Illinois.  She had a little birthday party while we were there, so I quickly sewed her a t-shirt with a number 1 on it and bought a frilly flower to put in her hair.

I didn’t take her to the doctor until this week though.  I don’t really know why, but for some reason I take offense when people say Abby is chunky, solid, chubby, etc. (It’s only strange for me because I love chunky babies and always wish mine were.) It’s mostly because she’s not chunky, at least not as far as babies go.  Today, I was affirmed in my belief that Abby is, in fact, on the skinny side.  She weighs 21 pounds, which puts her in the 45th percentile of kids her age, but her height is 30 inches, which puts her in the 75th percentile.  So she is taller than she is wide.  Not that it matters at all because I love her to pieces!

She is working on walking, but I’m not expecting it anytime soon (though I am trying to force it). She loves to wrestle and scowl.  And she eats just about anything anytime.  There are only three teeth in her mouth, but two more are peeking through. In comparison, Lily had 8 by this age and 8 more arrived shortly afterwards.  She kind of says Momma, Dada, and bye and she nods her head for yes.  For example, if I ask, “Do you want some strawberries?” She nods enthusiastically, though she might do the same if you asked if she wanted sauerkraut.  Anyways, her are some pics from her birthday!

Leave a Reply

